You are here: Home / For Teens / Teen Summer Reading Program

Teen FB4

Reading Challenge

July 10 - August 5

Teen Summer

Book Club


How to Play

Dot the quests! Gain the experience! Earn the prize! Complete 8 activities each week of the Reading Challenge. Receive a prize for every week of participation! You may repeat an activity twice (out of 28 activities completed).

Reading Log

Fill in a circle for every 15 minutes you read.

  • 4 circles = 1 hour
  • 20 circles = 5 hours

Read 5 hours then stop in to RML to receive a prize.
All logs must be returned by Saturday, August 5th by 4pm to receive prizes.

Beginning July 10th , pick up a Reading Log at the Front Desk or print one here!

Teen kidseal01

Summer Events

2017

All teens (grade 7-12th) welcome to join us as we talk books this summer! Snacks provided!

Wednesday, June 14th at 10:30 am

Read a NEW book (published in the past 12 months)—fiction or non-fiction. Ask us for suggestions!

Wednesday, July 12th at 10:30am

Read a book based only on its cover—fiction or non-fiction. Ask us for suggestions!

Wednesday, August 9th at 10:30am

Read We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Participate in one of the previous clubs & receive a free book to read for this session! Sponsored by the Robey Memorial Library Foundation.

Teen Slogan 1

June

Thursday, June 1 from 5:30pm

Hook & Needle Club

Learn to crochet and/or knit!

Monday, June 5 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Wednesday, June 7 from 10-11am

Summer Explorers: Green Iowa

Thursday, June 8 from 5:30-6:30pm

I Found It on Pinterest

Join us as we make a project from Pinterest. All supplies provided.

Monday, June 12 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Wednesday, June 14 from 10-11am

Summer Explorers

Bug Houses with Ross

Wednesday, June 14 10:30-11:30am

Teen Book Club

We will discuss NEW books read (published in the past 12 months).

Thursday, June 15 from 2-6pm

Foundation Book Sale

Add to your book collection on the cheap!

Monday, June 19 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Wednesday, June 21 from 10-11am

Summer Explorers

TBD

Monday, June 26 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Thursday, June 29 from 5:30-6:30pm

Free Class

TBD

July

Monday, July 3 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Tuesday, July 4

LIBRARY CLOSED

Thursday, July 6 from 5:30-6:30pm

Hook & Needle Club

Learn to crochet and/or knit.

Saturday, July 8 from 4-6pm

After Hours: Teen Movie

Join us for food & a movie—Jurassic World

Monday, July 10

READING CHALLENGE BEGINS

Monday, July 10 from 5:45-7:30pm

Family Night

Register for the Reading Challenge; participate in fun activities, get free stuff!

Wednesday, July 12 from 10:30-11:30am

Teen Book Club

We will discuss titles read based only on the cover!

Wednesday, July 12 from 1-3pm

Teen Make & Take

Pop-Up Greeting Cards: Drop in any time during the 2-hour session to make a pop-up greeting card to encourage someone you know!

July

(continued)

Monday, July 17 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Wednesday, July 19 from 1-3pm

Teen Make & Take

 T-Shirt Bag: Drop in any time during the 2-hour session to upcycle a t-shirt into a useful bag, bring your own or use one supplied.

Thursday, July 20 from 2-6pm

Foundation Book Sale

 Add to your book collection on the cheap!

Saturday, July 22 from 10am-12pm

Table Game Day

Monday, July 24 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Wednesday, July 26 from 1-3pm

Teen Make & Take

CD Scratch Art: Upcycle a CD into art!

Thursday, July 27 from 5:30-7pm

Free Class

TBD

Monday, July 31 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

August

Wednesday, August 2 from 10-11am

Summer Explorers

TBD

Wednesday, August 2 from 1-3pm

Teen Make & Take

Mini Succulent Garden: Drop in any time during the 2-hour session to make a mini garden.

Thursday, August 3 from 5:30-6:30pm

Hook & Needle Club

Learn to crochet and/or knit.

Saturday, August 5

READING CHALLENGE ENDS

Monday, August 7 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Wednesday, August 9 from 10-11am

Summer Explorers

TBD

Wednesday, August 9 from 10:30-11:30am

Teen Book Club

We will discuss We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Teens participating in one of our previous book Club discussion will receive this book free. Sponsored by the Robey Memorial Library Foundation.

Thursday, August 10 from 5:30-6:30pm

I Found It on Pinterest

Join us as we make a project from Pinterest. All supplies provided.

Monday, August 14 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

Thursday, August 17 from 2-6pm

Foundation Book Sale

Add to your book collection on the cheap!

Monday, August 21 from 4-6pm

Chess Club

TBD= To Be Determined...check our website for updates!